A Series of Unfortunate Events

Posted: March 24, 2011 in The Daily Grind
Tags: ,

Last Monday afternoon, I felt an irritating pain on my left foot. I didn’t mind it though coz I thought it was nothing. Gradually, the pain increased and before I knew it, I was limp walking. I decided to buy a roll of bandage and a bottle of liniment for my planned self medication. As soon as I got home, I did the RICE strategy: rest, ice, compression and elevation. After smothering my foot with liniment, I wrapped it with the bandage that I bought earlier, propped it up with pillows and went to sleep hoping that it will all be well when I get up in the morning.

I was wrong. Boy was I wrong!

I woke up around 430AM with the biggest urge to pee. Because I didn’t feel any pain on my foot at that moment, I directly stood up from my bed. I felt a sharp pain shoot through my ankle and I fell down. It was so painful I actually gasped and almost screamed. I couldn’t wake up my housemates for the obvious reason that it was too early for them to be getting up. I was in so much pain that I didn’t want to risk standing up. But at the same time, I really really really needed to pee so badly. I seriously considered crawling to the loo but thought it was too absurd and desperate. So I sloooooowly got to my feet and limped all the way to the bathroom and then back to bed.

So I ended up being stuck at home on a Tuesday, nursing a severely swollen right foot, worrying about tasks piling up at work. The next day, my foot was all better so I decided to just risk it and go to the office. Again, I wrapped it with a bandage and slipped on my trusty flip flops and commuted to work. Yuff! Went to the office and attended meetings on my flip flops. Hrhrhrhr. As of writing, I feel a minimal pain when I walk briskly and I’m still limping just a tad bit.

What sucks though is that I WON’T BE ABLE TO DO THE RUN 4 HOME MARATHON ON SUNDAY!!! It’s just so frustrating considering the fact that I already paid the P600 registration fee. OK, granted this is for charity and other good natured shite, but man! That’s like P600 down the drain. Also, it was to be my first marathon ever. EVER! Ugh! #creycreycrey

I am also currently battling my commuting woes. You see, I now live somewhere that entails riding on a chariot (aka jeepney) to and from work. When I was on a jeep headed home last night, I so slightly grazed my arm on a metal bar and I suddenly felt an itch spread from my left elbow to my arm. And voila! I had these red and swollen and goddamned itchy patches of skin! I looked at the other passengers and nobody else was scratching. Ugh! Why did it have to be me? #morecrey This is how my arm looked like when I got home.

OK. Ang arte lang pero I really really really hate commuting. If not for the absurdly high rates, I would take a cab all the time. ALL. THE. TIME. But since I’m a cheapskate, I would just have to endure all the glorious commuting torture everyFUCKINGday.

In other news, I colored my hair.

Let's discuss!

