Toast Box

Posted: October 31, 2011 in Bucket List, Tummy Fillers
Tags: , , , , , ,

For as long as I can remember, I have been wanting to check out new restaurants all over the metro. As luck would have it, I just could not find friends who’s schedules coincide with mine and therefore could not commit to be my restaurant-hopping-buddy. Not until I jumped ship and moved to my new work. I successfully cajoled two of my teammates to join me on a gastronomic adventure.

For our first restaurant, we were hell-bent on trying out Uncle Cheffy’s because we’ve heard a lot of good things about this joint. But work got in the way. We could not afford to sneak out as long as we would have wanted to. But still, we needed to eat. Toast Box is just a few steps away from our building and we’ve always wondered how their food is, so it was the logical choice.

Toast Box is a franchise of the Singaporean joint. They do not offer a lot of choices but they do have Hainanese Chicken and Nasi Goreng in their menu. We were not in the mood for a rice meal though, so we tried out their Laksa and some sandwiches.

We ordered their Nonya Laksa (P215) to split among us three. Like what a good laksa should be, it had a good mix of curry and shrimp paste. However, I found it somewhat lacking. Maybe it’s the fact that it only had ONE shrimp and a pitiful half of an egg. It was nothing I would go crazy about.


Their sandwiches come at P105 a pop. Every sandwich comes with a free hot coffee or tea. For an additional P15, you could upgrade your drink to an iced milk tea. We tried the Pork Floss and Luncheon Meat Sandwiches. The Pork Floss Sandwich is reminiscent of Breadtalk’s Pork Floss but with mayo and slices of cucumber. Their Luncheon Meat Sandwich is as bland and uncreative as it sounds.

Their milk tea was good, or at least good enough for me. I am not much of a tea-drinker but I was able to finish this glass so that says a lot. It tasted like the one I had for breakfast at a restaurant in Hong Kong.

LOL. Last picture for the lols. That’s Nadine Samonte and her boyfriend (who looks a lot like a fairer version of Ryan Bang) about to eat each other’s faces.

Toast Box is located at Fort Bonifacio, Taguig. They also have branches in Trinoma and Greenbelt 5.

Click here for more pictures.

Comments
  1. I saw the sandwich on the wordpress page and it pulled me in.

  2. Neither do I, I enjoy cooking and have a group on FB. I guess you can say food is one of my enjoyment along with many other things.

Let's discuss!

