Singapura 2011: Bugis Street

Posted: November 7, 2011 in Bucket List, Picdump, Where Have I Been?
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Our original plan for our 3rd day at Singapore was be at Singapore Zoo all day and jump to the Night Safari at… well night. LOL. But it rained on us so we had to change our plans. Good thing we were with Ami and Ate Diane (another one of our friends who’s now also working in SG) so it was not that hard for us to come up with Plan B. They suggested we could do some shopping at Bugis Street, so Bugis it is!

But first, breakfast was in order. We met Ate Diane at McDix and devoured their breakfast deliciousness. Strangely, I have no photos of the food we ordered. Maybe a picture of those two beautiful ladies, then?

After breakfast, we needed to print some stuff out so we dropped by Ate Diane’s office which had an awesome porch view.

Then off we went to Bugis Street. Bugis is like a trendier and waaaay bigger version of our very own Greenhills Shopping Center. Well, that is if Greenhills had their fair share of Sex Shops.

There was a huge stall selling fresh fruit shakes and Ate Diane got us one each. I had the Honey Plum and it was delicious!

Then we bought chocolate pasalubongsss from this shop which albeit being small, offered a wide array of choclits and other delicacies to choose from. This is where I bought my pack of nori strips which took me forever to finish. Heh.

Later, we got sucked into the shopping frenzy and our cameras got shoved down our bags. There were just so much things to buy! LOL. They come pretty cheap, too! Only downside was the store owners were pretty stingy when it comes to trying on their clothes so you just have to cross your fingers and hope that what you buy fits you. Me, I got crazy at an earring store. THOSE you could try on.

Before we knew it, it was already lunch time so our shopping spree was cut short. To be honest, it was kinda bitin but my wallet approves of the pause in spending. Heh.

We had lunch at a nearby mall. It was also a good way to give our already tired feet their much needed break. Everything we had for lunch was delish especially their rice with nori bits on it.


The two SG working ladies had to run some errands so Nero and I were left to shop some more. We bought the tourist-y I ❤ SG shirts at Giordano and I also got a replacement for my battered trainers. We convened with the others after because we were headed next to the Night Safari!

Comments
  1. Okay, your really making me want to put Singapore on my list for place to come visit. I love a good sale. I thought the children here in Germany sucker was big, but the one in the picture is ridiculous. I have to show it to my husband nephew next time he visit. I can pictures his eyes popping out of his head.

    • kleypas says:

      Singapore is a really cool place to visit, I wish I could go back there soon! And yes, it’s so nice to shop there because tourists get to refund the taxt they pay for the merchandise.

      That sucker was as big as my head LOL. Would have been ridiculously funny to be lugging that thing around. :p

  2. […] that tiring shopping spree at Bugis Street, we headed for another adventure at the Singapore Night Safari. To get there, one has to take a bus […]

Let's discuss!

