This Too Shall Pass

Posted: November 9, 2011 in The Daily Grind
Tags: , ,

Earlier today while I was getting ready for work, I received a text message from one of my friends.

Kailangan kita. Actually, kailangan ko lahat ng kaibigan ko.
Trans: I need you. Actually, I need all of my friends

I immediately texted her back with panic milling through my head – you see, her daughter (my goddchild) just got hospitalized because of dengue. I feared she hasn’t recuperated yet and that her situation worsened. Thankfully, it’s an entirely different problem she’s encountering now. She broke up with her boyfriend. As it turns out, her boyfriend is one cheating bastard. She says it hurts, and I know it does… FOR NOW.

You see, in life, pain is inevitable. That’s the beauty of life. You need to experience darkness to appreciate the light. You need to see the bad to further enjoy the good. Cliche as it may sound, you do need to feel pain sometimes to savor the real taste of happiness.

I still vividly remember my grief when my favorite aunt drew her last breath while I was combing her hair. I was still a kid, still to fully grasp the power of cancer. But I felt the full impact of losing someone in my life; of getting robbed of the chance to experience the beauty of life with her again.

A breakup is just another form of death; and as with death, it is perfectly normal to grieve and feel pain for the death of a love. Breakups are never easy, especially those induced by cheaters. My friend is just unfortunate enough to be on the receiving end of a cheater’s wrath.

I couldn’t offer her any other advice but: “THIS TOO SHALL PASS”. No matter how painful or depressing or sucky it feels right now, it too, shall pass. It might hurt now, but it will all be better IN TIME. Give yourself time to grieve and heal and move forward. Surround yourself with things and people that make you happy. And maybe indulge on a drinking spree with me for good measure, yeah?

Have you ever been heartbroken? What helped you move on?

Comments
  1. This is a very beautiful post that I had to Tweeter and FB it.

Let's discuss!

