The Art of Spoken Word

Posted: March 5, 2012 in The Daily Grind, The Internet is Awesome
Tags: , , , , , ,

Just recently, I discovered a new form of art – the SPOKEN WORD. Sure, I have attended a couple of poetry reading and cultural nights before but never have I formally recognized Spoken Word as a real form of art.

I used to think that poems were supposed to always rhyme – that poems which do not rhyme are plainly not poetic at all. That’s why I could never get haikus. What with all the focus on counting and not rhyming. It’s stupid, I know. Forgive me and my apparent lack of artistic knowledge.

I am aware that I am not the most knowledgeable and cultured person. That’s why I always strive to learn new things. Thanks to tumblr and bloggers all over the world, I get to see things I would never have discovered on my own.

I saw a video of Sarah Kay performing one of her poems. I have never even heard of her or recognized spoken word as an art before I saw that video. When her performance ended, I couldn’t help myself from clicking on the other suggested videos. Before I knew it, I was totally hanging on to her words and watched at least ten of her performances in a row. I was hooked.

Here is one of my favorites from her:

 

 

And here’s Phil Kaye (Sarah’s co-founder of THE VOICE) with a pretty accurate description of the Spoken Word.

Let's discuss!

