I am headed home to my good ol’ province in less than 10 days for the Holy Week vacation and a cousin’s wedding. This would be the first ever family wedding I am able to attend (on my father’s side, at least) so I’m pretty stoked. In the past, much to my chagrin, I was either busy with school or work. Luckily, this wedding coincided with the Lenten vacation so successkid.jpg!

Anyway, I was looking through old photo albums and I realized I never got to share our vacation pictures in Ilocos Norte (and side trip in Vigan) some two years ago. I toured my friends around my hometown and revisited classic tourist spots all around Ilocos.

We headed straight to our house for a much needed breakfast and refresher. Then off to Cape Bojeador Lighthouse we went.

Cape Bojeador Lighthouse, also known as Burgos Lighthouse, is a cultural heritage structure in Burgos, Ilocos Norte, that was established during the Spanish Colonial period in the Philippines. It was first lit on March 30, 1892 and is set high on Vigia de Nagparitan Hill overlooking the scenic Cape Bojeador where early galleons used to sail by. After over 100 years, it still functions as a welcoming beacon to the international ships that enter the Philippine Archipelago from the north and guide them safely away from the rocky coast of the town.

After taking a shitload of pictures of the lighthouse, we dropped off our things at Palalay Hotel (sadly, no pictures) then made our way to Kapurpurawan – white rock formations created by forces of nature.

It was pretty windy that day and my dad did not want me climbing up to the top of the huge white boulder. My friends did not let the chance pass, though. I remember I kept complaining to my dad why he won’t let me go up but deep inside, I was actually thankful because I have fear of heights and I was really afraid I would fall down and die. LOL.

Then we went back to our house to feast on lobsters and native chicken tinola and other deliciousness that my mom prepared. After the pigout and siesta, next on our itinerary were the infamous windmills.

We had dinner and drinks at a resort in Pagudpud and almost died while trying to experience Pagudpud Beach. LOL not really, but I remember being rolled around mercilessly by huge waves and sand went all over the place. ALL.FUCKING.OVER.

Nevertheless, the view was awesome so not complaining here. After a good amount of food and booze, we were driven back to our hotel to rest for the night.

The next day, we drove by the Church and Bell Tower in Bacarra. Nothing much there but it was along the way so why not, yeah? Then we went off to Laoag for empanada and to check out the Sinking Tower and Cathedral. Fort Ilocandia is just nearby so we also visited the place.

It was my first time at Malacañang of the North. We had the whole place to ourselves and I still vividly remember the boys climbing on top of the roof to pick mangoes off the tree. Iskwater? Haha!

Paoay Church was so picturesque in the afternoon sunlight. We had our afternoon meriende at the nearby Cafe Herencia but we didn’t try the famous pinakbet pizza. Meh. Must go back for that.

Afterwards, we headed to Playa Hotel for the night. OMG, the place is so gorgeous! Like postcard gorgeous lah! I would go back to that place again, for sure.

SEE? Gorgeous, right? The next day, we just lounged around the pool and soaked up some sun.

As a last minute idea, we decided to do a side trip of Vigan. Luckily, one of us knew someone from there so he took us around the place and bought us empanada too. Yummers! (But I’m still loyal to Batac’s empanada, hrhrhr)

Ilocos is so pretty, yes? I am really so proud of all its beaches and historical spots and nature shites. This makes me more excited to go hooooome!

Comments
  1. […] an irrational fear of heights. It took me 23 years before I could even climb on top of the infamous Kapurpurawan rock formation. My knees would shake everytime we climb up the lighthouse in our town. Heck, I even get nervous on […]

Let's discuss!

