Travel Tuesday: Parasailing at Manukan Island (Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia)

Posted: July 31, 2012 in Travel Tuesday, Where Have I Been?
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

In my previous post about Manukan Island, I promised that I would share more pictures of our parasailing adventure.

I actually impressed myself this time because truth be told, I have an irrational fear of heights. It took me two decades to climb up to the tower of the lighthouse in our town. I have been to the lighthouse for like dozens of time, but I never ever dared go to the highest part because I am such a wuss.

So anyway, when the tour officer offered the parasailing deal, I was really hesitant to go. But then I said, fuck it! I am on a vacation and I’d better do something out of my comfort zone! So we went up in the air and the rest is history, lol.

 

On to the pictures…

 

During “take off”. The crank sounded really squeaky and that did not help with my nerves. I was soooo afraid for my life!

 

A different point of view. I took an underwater camera up in the air with me.

 

I was trembling all over during the first five minutes. But that did not stop me from camwhoring while we’re up there.

 

Then I took the time to look around and enjoy the view. And boy, WHAT A VIEW! The panorama of the whole island was so beautiful. I couldn’t stop myself from relaxing. But then the boat down there would take a turn and the chains would adjust with that scary sound, and then the little panic attacks start again. Oh boy!

 

From time to time, the boat driver (or whatever they call the one that controls our flight) would adjust the chains so the balloon would go down so we could dip/drag our feet into the water (think bungee jumping in slow-mo). So much fun!

 

The next thing I know, we were already going down to the boat. I really enjoyed the ride up there with the gentle breeze and awesome view. I almost wished it would never end. ALMOST. I was more than relieved when my feet touched the boat’s wooden floors. But when the opportunity presents itself again, I would go parasailing in a heartbeat.

 

 

Comments
  1. […] parasailing over Manukan Island, we decided to head back to the waters and explore some more. Armed with our […]

Let's discuss!

