Sariwon Korean Barbeque

Posted: March 14, 2013 in The Daily Grind

Late last year, I got a chance to eat with my team at Sariwon Korean Barbeque. It’s one of the relatively new restaurants in the BGC area. I’m not really an avid fan of Korean cuisine – or any other Korean stuff for that matter (no offense to ‘anything-Korean-fanatics’, looking at you little sister). That sounds pretty contradicting seeing as I already booked a visit to Korea come end of year, but whatever.

The place looked nice, nothing too extravagant to rave about. Every table comes with a built-in smokeless grill which is rather nice because we were all going back to the office right after lunch and as delectable as it might sound, no one wants to smell like burnt meat. They also have those dehydrated towels that transform to hot towels when water is poured on them. I was amazed by that, but then again I’m a kid at heart so I’m easily amazed. Haha!

20130314-084748.jpg

11

As soon as we were settled down, the servers brought an extensive array of complimentary side dishes to our table. There was Kimchi (which I never liked AT ALL), Moosangchae (pickled Korean radish), Tanhobak Sarada (mashed sweet pumpkin and potato), Shigumchi (blanched spinach leaves), Kochu Meolchi Dokkeum (roasted anchovies) and Kaeinyachae (house salad). I Googled all those names by the way, there’s no way in hell I’d know them from the top of my head. For refreshments, I got their refillable House Blend Iced Tea (P115). They also have a good selection of beer, Soju and Korean wine.

Side dishes in the background. I didn't take a good shot of them alone.

Side dishes surrounding the grill. I was not able to tale a good shot of them alone.

10

For our appetizer, we had their Haemul Pajeon (P350), a traditional Korean pancake made with squid, shrimp, oysters and green onion. I remember it to be a tad bit on the oily side.

8

Next to arrive were our order of Dak Galbi (P350), grilled boneless chicken delicately marinated overnight in a secret spice sauce for that tangy taste served in a sizzling plate. Followed suit by Dwaeji Galbi (P350), juicy grilled pork loin which was almost the same as the Dak Galbi but much more oily. They even look the same in photos, haha!

6

5

I got excited when our server fired up the grill in the middle of our table. Our order of Seng Galbi (P780), juicy and premium USDA Choice beef short ribs was freshly grilled at the table. You may opt to eat it with your rice or with Sangchoo, a mix of sesame leaves, lettuce, garlic slivers and chili paste. Simply stack a piece of lettuce and sesame leaf, grab a piece of beef and top it with garlic and chili paste. Yum!

4

9

Then the servers changed the setup of our grill for them to cook our next order. Deungsim Yangnyeom Bulgogi (P495), honey marinated slices of USDA Choice beef grilled at the table served with freshly made sweet potato noodles and a healthy bulgogi soup.

2

3

1

This was my second favorite (next to the Seng Galbi) because I love anything with soup. And it was my first time to eat sweet potato noodles. It was so delicate and… uhm… sweet. Haha!

After our meal, they served us complimentary dessert drink — Sikhye, a traditional sweet drink home-made with malt and rice. It was rather refreshing but I didn’t finish mine because it was too sweet for my taste.

Sariwon Korean Barbecue is in the Upper Ground Floor, West Superblock of BHS Central. 

Let's discuss!

