After having our fill of all things fried at Crazy Katsu (see blogpost here: CRAZY KATSU), we made our way to The Iscreamist for dessert. Now, I have wanted to try this place out for the longest time. Whenever I see a video of one of my friends with smoke blowing out their nose, I would feel a tinge of envy.

But I’m getting ahead of myself here. For those who are not aware, The Iscreamist is a unique dessert place that incorporates molecular gastronomy into their food AKA you get to ingest liquid Nitrogen. That alone won me over. I wouldn’t even care if the food was not good. Well, OK maybe I would care a little bit, but I was more interested with the whole she-bang of eating something submerged in liquid Nitrogen.

The interiors of the place was reminiscent of a high school Science room. Makes sense, right? It was pretty cool, despite the lack of air conditioning. Hehe, see what I did there?

20140112_131051_1[1]

20140112_131106_1[1]

20140112_131200_1[1]

 

We opted to try the Dragon’s Breath in which they give you a cup of liquid Nitrogen then you get to dip your choice of food in it. Unfortunately, the macaron and tiramisu were not available that time so we had to settle with s’mores. One of the staff started filling a pitcher with the liquid Nitrogen and cold smoke wafted all over the place. Dun dun dun… Looks like a horror scene, right? No? OK.

20140112_131330_1[1]

 

Then our food was served. Each order yields 4 small pieces of s’mores and half a cup of liquid Nitrogen. IT LOOKED SO PRETTY!!! Hahaha! Mind you, it was my first time seeing Nitrogen, LITERALLY.

So what you do is get a piece of the s’mores, dip it in the cup for 7 seconds, then eat it. It wasn’t mind-blowingly good, but fuck yeah, it was cool! Just watch out for freeze burn, hehe.

20140112_131700_1[1]

20140112_131735_1[1]

 

Just for kicks, here’s a video of me trying this thing out. I know, I know. I look like a doofus. LOL.

 

Another place I would love to visit again. Hopefully next time, their macarons and tiramisu will be available. Would also love to try their ice creams. Hmmmmmm….

20140112_133151_1[1]

Comments
  1. […] frozen s’mores were very interesting and entertaining to eat (read more about it here.) After getting our fill of liquid Nitrogen, we trooped out of their cozy shop and decided to kill […]

Let's discuss!

