I have heard so many good things about Cafe by the Ruins from friends and other bloggers. This made me even more excited to try it out. So excited that I didn’t even care if I was going to dine there alone on my solo trip to Baguio.

DSC_1377

Right after getting off the bus, I immediately hailed a cab and asked to be dropped off at Cafe by the Ruins. It wasn’t too long til I was seated at a table and perusing their quite extensive menu.

DSC_1379

I didn’t get to roam around the restaurant because I was quite hesitant to leave my things unattended. But this is the view from where I was seated. Most of the tables near the kitchen were filled, mostly by families. While I sat quietly in the distant, forever alone. LOL!

DSC_1392

I was quite hungry and really cold so I wanted to have something warm and filling and their Pinikpikan seemed like the perfect choice. Pinikpikan is a chicken soup used in rituals in the Cordillera region. I think the chicken is killed in a special way where they keep tapping (pikpik) it with some hard object until it dies (this sounds so morbid LOL). I heard this is also what turns the meat of the chicken to a dark color.

DSC_1389

It was served with a cup of red mountain rice which was a little too wet for my liking but I still ate it all up anyway because I was really hungry. The Pinikpikikan meal comes at Php320, a little pricey but most of the dishes in Cafe by the Ruins are around this price range.

DSC_1391

I decided to get the Strawberry Soda at Php120 for my drinks. It’s simply soda water mixed with strawberry syrup.

DSC_1387

I really enjoyed my first meal at Cafe by the Ruins and I vowed to go back to try their freshly baked breads.

DSC_1394

Let's discuss!

