On my most recent trip to Baguio, I got to try out quite a number of restaurants for the first time – one of them is Oh My Gulay. I have heard a lot of good things about this restaurant so I was really excited to taste their food. I got so winded after the long trek up 5 flights of stairs, but was immediately appeased at the sight of the restaurant’s interior.

ohmygulay2

Oh My Gulay is housed at the Victor Oteyza Community Art Space (VOCAS) so be on the lookout for random art scattered all around. The space has a high ceiling and big open windows that invites a lot of natural light in. It is so calm and serene, perfect for an afternoon of chitchat with friends while eating good food.

544885141

ohmygulay8

ohmygulay6

When we walked in, the place was a bit swamped which was quite surprising because it was already way past lunch time. We took our time perusing their menu which wasn’t really that varied, in my opinion. When we all had our picks, we beckoned a waiter over to our table only to be disappointed when almost everything we ordered were out of stock. We asked for more time to re-pick our orders and by the time we were ready, we were informed that the kitchen is temporarily closed for additional orders without any assurance on what time it will open again. WTF?!? My friend who recommended the place took matters to his own hand and ordered directly from the kitchen – which apparently was not closed. LOL what is up with that?!?

ohmygulay1

We settled on three items to be shared among us four.

Anak ng Putanesca | Php130Our version of putanesca, enriched with a hint of cayenne pepper.
Don’t be fooled by all that cheese, this was as tasteless as a piece of paper. We had to add a loooot of ground pepper (we would have added some salt but the waiter never got back to us when we requested for some, seriously what’s up with the terrible service?!?). I think I should also mention that we never got any individual plates so we all had to eat off the serving plates haha. Back to the putanesca, the only good thing about this dish is that the noodles were cooked al dente.

ohmygulay4

Pancit Gulay | Php135Egg noodles with tofu and ten assorted vegetables in season with your choice of spicy or non-spicy special pancit sauce.
To start off, the tally of vegetables did not come up to ten. At best, there must have been five in there. Rip off! But the good thing is that the egg noodles were perfectly cooked and the sauce was tasty. It felt like eating Chinese-style pancit canton without all the grease.

ohmygulay5

Talong Parmigiana | Php135Breaded eggplant over whole wheat bread topped with our special red sauce, pesto and cheese.
My favorite among the three dishes we got that day. The sauce was tangy and slightly sweet and the fried eggplant tasted fresh. However, I would have wanted the bread to be more crisp (I swear I am not nitpicking!)

ohmygulay3

We would have loved to order some coffee to beat off the cold but with the kitchen situation going on, we figured we should just spare ourselves the trouble. In fact, some diners got so pissed off that they refused to pay the service charge.

I seriously hope that it was just an off-day for Oh My Gulay because I honestly believe that their food have great potential. It’s cheap and healthy, and the ambience is really a hit so maybe I will give them another try on my next visit to Baguio.

Oh My Gulay is on the 5th Floor of La Azotea Building along Session Road and tehy are open from 11am to 830pm

Comments
  1. Sherica says:

    OMG. I love Oh my gulay!!! I lived in Baguio for four years and I terribly miss the lovely weatherrr T___T

    • kleypas says:

      I might (with 99% certainty) go back to Baguio by the end of this month. I so hope OMG’s service will not be this bad when I go back for a second visit.

      Did you go to college in Baguio? 🙂

  2. Jhanz says:

    I’ve seen a lot of raves for this place and looks like it’s something worth visiting if ever I’d be in Baguio! 🙂

Let's discuss!

