It feels like it has been ages since Tim Ho Wan opened its first store here in the Philippines and I have been wantingto eat there ever since. Consistently, I see a buttload of photos of their infamous pork buns which made me even more eager to try it for myself. But since I hate crowds and I always see a long waiting line outside their branch in SM Megamall, I get turned off and always walk away looking for somewhere else to eat. Until one Saturday evening, when Cris and I were deciding where to have our dinner. There were no lines outside Tim Ho Wan so it was instantaneously decided, Tim Ho Wan for dinner it is!

image

(Spicy) Pork Ribs Rice | Php170
The dish was served piping hot, and the pepper slices on top made it even hotter. The pork ribs were tender; with the right mix of meat, fat, bone, and cartilage. Cris enjoyed this so much, he ate 80% of it LOL.

image

Braised Chicken Feet | ~Php140
We ordered chicken feet because we have been craving for Causeway’s chicken feet for the longest time. Tim Ho Wan’s were good, the meat was tasty and soft. However, I still prefer that of Causeway’s.

image

Congee | Php140
Their congee had lean pork, Century egg and salted egg. It was super good!!! Don’t be fooled by the seemingly plain appearance, it packs a lot of flavor. I especially love the salted egg bits in it. I would definitely order this again next time.

image

Beef Ball w/ Beancurd Skin | Php120
This was actually a wrong order. We originally wanted the Beancurd Skin Roll but I mistakenly ticked the wrong box LOL. With that being said, the beef balls were still appreciated. It tasted really meaty – no extenders. However, the cilantro taste was a tad too strong for my liking. This is just a personal preference though, I just don’t like cilantro that much.

image

Baked Bun w/ BBQ Pork | Php145
First of all, I feel like this dish is pretty cheap considering you get 3 pieces of pork buns per order. I have heard nothing but good things about Tim Ho Wan’s pork buns so I was really, really excited to taste them. They were served hot and the crust was oh so crunchy yet soft at the same time (if that is even possible). On first bite, I was in love. So I took a few more bites, then it hit me… It’s sweet. Too sweet. I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. The BBQ Pork filling was too sweet for me, again, a personal preference. But I loved the pastry shell. I imagine it would work well as a dessert if it was filled with custard or red beans.

image

Overall, I loved Tim Ho Wan’s food! I was a bit sad that I didn’t like the Pork Buns as much as I thought I would, but the Pork Ribs and Congee more than made up for it. I would definitely go back again, only if the lines are short enough LOL.

Have you tried Tim Ho Wan’s food? What’s your favorite dish from them?

Comments
  1. Helga Weber says:

    I am SO sad that I never got to eat at our Tim Ho Wan before I went pescetarian. I LOVE THE PORK BUNS and it’s been 2 years since I last had them! :(((((((((((((((((

    • kleypas says:

      Are the pork buns from other country’s Tim Ho Wan very sweet as well? Lol I can’t get over the sweetness.

      Awww na-sad ako that you won’t get to eat them pork buns na. Pero eat hakao na lang! Hehe

Let's discuss!

