Fely J’s Kitchen is a Filipino restaurant that specializes in Kapampangan food. It is part of the very popular LJC group of restaurants along with ABE, Lorenzo’s Way, Café Adriatico and Café Havana. After watching Guardians of the Galaxy 2 in the very cold Uptown Mall Cinema last weekend, I was craving for hot soup to warm me up. After a lot o wandering around, we ended up at Fely J’s mainly because the restaurant wasn’t as crowded as others and also because they have liempo, LOL.

Upon taking our order, they served us complimentary kropek which we munched on while waiting for our food to arrive. It came in this very pretty native bowl which I wanted to take home haha!

In an attempt to be ~healthy~, I ordered Ensalada ni Nanay (Php165). It came with slices of green mango, tomatoes, onions, salted egg, okra and eggplant. The sautéed bagoong was good – a little bit sweet and not too salty.

For our rice, we got the Fely J’s Dilis-cious Rice (Php225). It’s your regular steamed rice topped with deep-fried dilis and taosi and what I think might be fried shallots or onions. Honestly, the toppings were almost like ulam already but I loved how delicately flavored the crispy toppings were that they did not overpower the steamed rice.

Of course we got sinigang. This is the Fely J’s Pork Rib Sinigang (Php395). You have a choice between guava and tamarind broth. I’ve tried guava sinigang before and I didn’t like it so I opted for the classic tamarind. I like how they used pork rib so the meat wasn’t too fatty. Given that the pork was a bit on the leaner side, I was surprised to learn that they still managed to make it soft and tender. I loved dipping the meat into my patis-sili dipping sauce.

Last but not the least is the love of my life, Pork Liempo (Php225). If you know me well enough, you would know that I love LOVE liempo. Fely J’s version could be more tastier but it’s nothing a good toyo-mansi dipping sauce can’t remedy. 

Fely J’s Kitchen was surprisingly good. Not being much of a rice lover, it is a surprise that my favorite that night was the Dilis Rice. I could have the rice and the soup of the sinigang alone and I would honestly be a happy camper. 

Let's discuss!